Born and educated in Britain, I graduated in 1986 from the University College of North Wales (now the University of Bangor) with a B.A. (Hons) in German and Italian. Two years later, I completed a postgraduate diploma in translation at the University of Kent.

Following three years as a staff translator with Klockner-Moeller Ltd. (the UK arm of Klöckner-Moeller; now part of Eaton Corporation) in Aylesbury, I moved to Germany to work for tsd in Cologne. I have been an independent translator since 1993.

In 1999, I began using the Linux operating system and documenting my experience with it. My "Linux for Translators" website is probably the most comprehensive Internet resource on this subject.

In 2002, I joined Keith Godfrey, the original author of the OmegaT CAT (computer-aided translation) software program, in launching OmegaT as an open-source project. Since then, I have been involved in the OmegaT project in various capacities: project co-ordination, authoring of manuals, localization co-ordination, website management and programming of auxiliary tools.

Links:

Bangor University
University of Kent
Klöckner-Moeller
Linux for Translators
OmegaT

Ich bin in Großbritannien aufgewachsen und habe größtenteils auch dort studiert. 1986 habe ich am University College of North Wales (heute: University of Bangor) mein Studium zum B.A. (Hons) für Deutsch und Italienisch abgeschlossen. An der University of Kent habe ich 1988 ein Aufbaustudium mit dem Schwerpunkt „Übersetzen“ absolviert.

Danach habe ich drei Jahre für den britischen Zweig von Klöckner-Moeller in Aylesbury (heute Teil der Eaton Corporation) gearbeitet und bin anschließend nach Deutschland umgezogen, um für die Firma tsd Technik-Sprachendienst GmbH in Köln zu arbeiten. Seit 1993 bin ich als freiberuflicher Übersetzer tätig.

1999 habe ich angefangen, das Linux-Betriebssystem zu verwenden und meine Erfahrungen damit zu dokumentieren. Meine Website „Linux for Translators“ ist wahrscheinlich die umfassendste Internetquelle zum Thema Linux für Übersetzer.

Zusammen mit dem ursprünglichen Entwickler Keith Godfrey habe ich 2002 begonnen, das freie (open-source) Softwareprogramm für computergestütztes Übersetzen „OmegaT“ einem breiteren Nutzerkreis zugänglich zu machen. Seitdem war ich als Projektkoordinator, Autor von Bedienungsanleitungen, Lokalisierungskoordinator, Website-Manager und Programmierer von Zusatztools an dem Projekt „OmegaT“ beteiligt.

Links:

Bangor University
University of Kent
Klöckner-Moeller
Linux for Translators
OmegaT